There must be a logical explanation—it’s just that we haven’t found it yet.

April 20, 2010

Okay, here’s the story. A teenager in Croatia wakes up from a 24-hour coma. Doctors soon discover that she’s lost the ability to speak Croatian. She does, however, speak perfect German.

According to the girl’s parents, she’d been studying German (an incredibly difficult language to learn) but was by no means fluent. (This all reminds me of another story I heard several years ago.)

Interesting, right? But the most fascinating thing about this article in the Telegraph was the following quote from psychiatrist Mijo Milas:

There are references to cases where people who have been seriously ill and perhaps in a coma have woken up being able to speak other languages – sometimes even the Biblical languages such as that spoken in old Babylon or Egypt . . .

Wow. I’m sure there could be a logical explanation. But maybe, just maybe . . .

6 Responses to “There must be a logical explanation—it’s just that we haven’t found it yet.”


  1. how cool!! it would be neat to be able to speak flunt german

  2. Reggie Says:

    This is such a great anecdote Kirsten! I visited http://www.ouroborossociety.com and there were a few testimonials that I read about. They’re very interesting…I’ve had my share of deja vu moments…quite a lot acutally…


  3. Ooh! Interesting… One never knows for sure. After all, if there is no solid evidence to say “No, that’s no possible”, I like to always think that there is that slight possibility…

    I can’t wait to read The Eternal Ones, it sounds like the kind of book I usually love! 😀

    Enjoy,
    TBQ

  4. Ann Says:

    German isn’t that hard to learn[yes, I’m taking it…for the first time..I think…it’s not been THAT easy…]

  5. Zelia Says:

    Ever watched some foreign channel long enough to let your mind wonder? I sware I could understand DW channel another day but just until my mind understood I was understanding… It’s weird even trying to explain.

    My theory is we all know all languages but that’s somehow blocked. Babel tower anyone?


Leave a Reply

