My Latest Encounter With the Dearly Departed

May 22, 2010

I just moved into a new apartment. It’s an 1852 townhouse in the Boerum Hill neighborhood of Brooklyn. I love everything about it. Even the ghost.

On at least three occasions, I have been lying on my bed with my sixteen-month-old daughter, trying to convince her to go to sleep, when something rather unsettling has happened. My daughter sits bolt upright, points to an empty corner of the room and begins laughing hysterically. The first time it happened, I bolted. (Yes, I remembered to take the kid with me.) The second time, I watched a little longer, only to get completely freaked out . . . and bolt. (My heroines are always much braver than I.) Last night, I didn’t budge. And I swear, there had to be someone in that corner making the baby laugh. (Oh please, PLEASE don’t let it be a dead clown.)

As ghosts go, this one seems pretty pleasant. I’ve had more than one run-in with our not-so-solid friends, and I think I might be able to get used to sharing my house with this guy. (At least I think it’s a guy.)

And for the record, I’m only a LITTLE BIT nuts.

4 Responses to “My Latest Encounter With the Dearly Departed”

  1. Reggie Says:

    WOW! That’s…interesting =) I’m still not sure whether or not I believe in ghosts and such…I’m more of the believe-it-when-I-see-it type of girl =)


  2. Cool!! I love seeing ghosts!! (I’m weird I know) I wish I lived in an old house, my house is not even 15 years old ):

  3. Ashley Says:

    I always thought it would be interesting to live in a haunted house (with an agreeable spirit, that is!). Thanks for sharing!

  4. maxima Says:

    Is that a pic. from Angel: Smile Time??? BEcause that’s what it looks like


Leave a Reply

